top of page

Deer watching

There is a bit of a haze this morning. The clouds are coving the sun, making it a tad chillier than it should be. Sounds from the radio mix with the traffic passing by me as it sit in my car waiting. I can smell the hot chocolate I picked up a few minutes ago. I glance at the Timbit package and convince myself not to take one as I notice a familiar car pull into the parking lot and then park next to me. They're here!


Hugs hello and a quick chat as we get organized for the winter photo session. I pass over the treats and I get smiles all around. Everyone is dressed in similar colours "lumberjacks" as mama calls them. But it's a perfect contrast to the bare trees and fresh white snow.


We begin to walk into the park, off the beaten path and into the trees. Everyone is excited about having their photo taken, it makes me smile. Little "C" and I went off to hunt for the right spot to snap a few photos of him. C found a stick to help him get over the few branches on the ground, or just to carry a stick because he's a boy and...they like to carry sticks while in the forest. He used to be a little shy around me. I only see him maybe once a year, so I'm not sure if he used to me or just growing up or both.



I tell C he can warm up a bit with his hot chocolate and its his sisters turn. Mama tells me how "M" has been asking to have her photo taken, this is pure music to my ears.


She's dressed adorably in her white faux fur jacket. Her blond air pulled back off her sweet face, her blue eyes bright and happy. And then she smiles....and melts the snow around her.




The chilly morning has started to creep into my mittens, which means I only have these two sweethearts for a few more minutes because they will be starting to feel the cold faster than me. We take a few more steps deep into the forest and find a clearing to lay the blanket.


Noses begin to sniffle, birds are singing and then it happened. Everyone begins to stare at me or so it seemed. The family begins to quietly call my name and for me to turn around. I see it. A huge deer is slowly walking towards us. The kids are fascinated and so are the adults.


What do I do? I capture the family watching the forest creature, not the creature itself. This is a memory they will share together.


79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page